ROMANS 9 COMMENTARY

Almost two years ago, I wrote an article entitled, “Objects Of Wrath.” This article was centered around the statement in Romans 9:13, “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.” I have to admit, this verse was very confusing to me at first.  I didn’t understand how God could hate an unborn child.  After much study though, I figured out what was actually going on in this text.  So I decided to write an article on it.

Little did I know it would cause such a stir.  Honestly, I didn’t realize that so many held to the doctrine of unconditional election.  Due to the firestorm that ensued after writing this article, I decided I would keep my studies on Calvinism to myself.  I didn’t like the fact that so many were willing to break fellowship with me because I disagreed with them on this issue.

Well, I’ve repented.  Praise the Lord.

I have had many people ask me about Calvinism recently.  It seems that it is growing rapidly.  Therefore, I decided it was time to start putting some stuff together, in order to help those who have been confused by these teachings.

However, I think it is very important that I set the tone of this article right away.  I am, in no way, arrogantly proclaiming that I know everything and that all who disagree with me are heretics.  I acknowledge that many whom I deeply respect in the faith completely disagree with me on this issue.  Men of God whom I highly respect, such as Paul Washer, Voddie Baucham and John MacArthur, are all Calvinists.  And I could list many more.

I want to stress that I do not see this as an issue that I would ever break fellowship with someone over.  When you look back at the history of John Wesley and George Whitefield you see an Arminian and a Calvinist, who were best of friends.  Despite their contrasting beliefs, they stood back to back and boldly proclaimed the gospel in this great land we call America.  Had they harbored hatred toward each other, like many do today, we would perhaps have never seen the Great Awakening, nor the birth of this great nation.

I hope you realize that I do not write with a proud spirit.  However, I do feel it necessary to state that I thoroughly believe that the way I am going to exposit Romans 9 is the way it should be exposited.  But, once again, I also acknowledge that Calvinists, who would exposit it in a completely different way, also believe that their interpretation is the correct one.

So, now that I have established that I do not come in an arrogant spirit, I think it necessary to explain why I have decided to write this.  Lately, I have seen many negative attacks on the way Arminians interpret Scripture.  I find it hard to believe that Arminian teaching has been pinned for much of the liberalism and humanism which has invaded American Christianity.  There is much to say about that, but it is a completely unfair comparison.  Remember, Satan often conceals his falsehood in lies that most closely resemble the truth.

It is also said that Arminian teaching has resulted in many false converts.  No.  The problem of false converts in the church today comes from a lack of holiness preaching.  Pew-warmers won’t hang around too long when issues such as holiness and sanctification come up.  They’ll find some lukewarm church to hang out in.  The problem also comes from churches teaching that you can ask Jesus into your heart and then you’re set for eternity, despite how you live.

Many Calvinists would also say that we teach a man-centered, works-based religion, taking away from the sovereignty of God.  This is simply not true.  I will answer this argument, along with some others, as we dive into Romans 9.  But, before we get into it, take a look at what A.W. Tozer said about the sovereignty of God.

“God sovereignly decreed that man should be free to exercise moral choice, and man from the beginning has fulfilled that decree by making his choice between good and evil. When he chooses to do evil, he does not thereby countervail the sovereign will of God but fulfills it, inasmuch as the eternal decree decided not which choice the man should make but that he should be free to make it. If in His absolute freedom God has willed to give man limited freedom, who is there to stay His hand or say, “What doest thou?” Man’s will is free because God is sovereign. A God less than sovereign could not bestow moral freedom upon His creatures. He would be afraid to do so.”

Though this is a great quote, quotes do not dictate truth.  The Word of God dictates truth.  That is why I am going to give a detailed overview of Romans 9.  This chapter, perhaps more than any other in the Bible, is key to the Calvinist doctrines of unconditional election, limited atonement and irresistible grace.  They probably feel the ground for their argument is more solid in this passage of Scripture than anywhere else.  However, I believe this is the best place to disprove these three doctrines.

That is why I am writing this article.  For some reason, it is difficult to find teachings, straight from God’s word that refute Calvinism.  Many Arminians come to Romans 9 and get so confused that they just skip it.  Then, they resort to the argument that Calvinism simply doesn’t make sense; that it is unjust, and that it doesn’t jive with the character and nature of God.  I agree with all of those things.  But we can’t let the argument stop there.  Our opinions do not dictate truth.  God’s word dictates truth.

Before I show you what I believe to be the correct interpretation of Romans 9, let me give you an overview of what the Calvinists believe.  The doctrine of unconditional election teaches that, before God created the world, he chose to save some people according to his own purposes and apart from any conditions related to those persons.  In other words, before a person is born, God has already made up His mind whether or not he or she will go to Heaven.  And if you ask a Calvinist, they would have to say that this even applies to babies who die before they are born.  A key verse they use to back this up is Romans 9:13, which says, “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.”

So, grab your Bibles and turn to Romans 9.  All I ask is that you be as the Bereans.  Study the word of God to see if the things I am saying add up.  This will be an extensive study, yet you will notice that we are going to jump all over the Bible.  However, that is not my choosing, but Paul’s.  In Romans 9, he is using Old Testament Scriptures to make his point.  Therefore, we will visit those scriptures and read this passage in it’s context.  We will be reading from the New International Version.

1 I speak the truth in Christ—I am not lying, my conscience confirms it in the Holy Spirit— 2 I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. 3 For I could wish that I myself were cursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, those of my own race, 4 the people of Israel. Theirs is the adoption as sons; theirs the divine glory, the covenants, the receiving of the law, the temple worship and the promises. 5 Theirs are the patriarchs, and from them is traced the human ancestry of Christ, who is God over all, forever praised! Amen.  (Romans 9:1-5)

Here, we see that Paul is talking about the Jewish people; his brothers, those of his own race.

6 It is not as though God’s word had failed. For not all who are descended from Israel are Israel.  7 Nor because they are his descendants are they all Abraham’s children. On the contrary, “It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.”  8 In other words, it is not the natural children who are God’s children, but it is the children of the promise who are regarded as Abraham’s offspring.  (Romans 6:6-8)

In verses six through eight, we see that being born a Jew does not make a person a child of God.  It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.”Isaac was the son of faith, while Ishmael was a son of the flesh.  If we want to become a child of God, we have to come to him through faith in Christ.  Another passage which shows this is Romans 2:28-29, which says, “28 A man is not a Jew if he is only one outwardly, nor is circumcision merely outward and physical. 29 No, a man is a Jew if he is one inwardly; and circumcision is circumcision of the heart, by the Spirit, not by the written code. Such a man’s praise is not from men, but from God.”Let’s move now to verse nine.

9 For this was how the promise was stated: “At the appointed time I will return, and Sarah will have a son.”

Of course, in verse nine, he is talking about the birth of Isaac.  From Isaac and Rebekah, came Jacob and Esau.  And here is where some get confused.

10 Not only that, but Rebekah’s children had one and the same father, our father Isaac. 11 Yet, before the twins were born or had done anything good or bad—in order that God’s purpose in election might stand: 12 not by works but by him who calls—she was told, “The older will serve the younger.” 13 Just as it is written: “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.”

At first glance, it would appear that God hated one unborn child and loved the other one.  Of course, that makes no sense, but that’s exactly what the text says…right?  Well, you have to understand that Paul was quoting two Old Testament scriptures here.  His hearers, at the time, didn’t struggle with what he was saying because people knew the scriptures back then.  Let’s go to the first scripture he quotes, found in Genesis 25.

Genesls 25:23 says, The LORD said to her, “Two nations are in your womb, and two peoples from within you will be separated; one people will be stronger than the other, and the older will serve the younger.”So, who is in Rebekah’s womb? Two nations. These are two kinds of people. You have to take hold of that. All through the Bible you see these two kinds of people. One of which God loves, the other he hates.  You have the seed of the woman and the seed of the serpent.  Those who receive Christ by faith, and those who reject Christ and trust in themselves.

Let’s keep going. We’ve got to find out why God hated Esau.24 When the time came for her to give birth, there were twin boys in her womb. 25 The first to come out was red, and his whole body was like a hairy garment; so they named him Esau. 26 After this, his brother came out, with his hand grasping Esau’s heel; so he was named Jacob. Isaac was sixty years old when Rebekah gave birth to them. 27 The boys grew up, and Esau became a skillful hunter, a man of the open country, while Jacob was a quiet man, staying among the tents. 28 Isaac, who had a taste for wild game, loved Esau, but Rebekah loved Jacob. 29 Once when Jacob was cooking some stew, Esau came in from the open country, famished. 30 He said to Jacob, “Quick, let me have some of that red stew! I’m famished!” (That is why he was also called Edom. 31 Jacob replied, “First sell me your birthright.” 32 “Look, I am about to die,” Esau said. “What good is the birthright to me?” 33 But Jacob said, “Swear to me first.” So he swore an oath to him, selling his birthright to Jacob. 34 Then Jacob gave Esau some bread and some lentil stew. He ate and drank, and then got up and left. So Esau despised his birthright.”

What did Esau do to deserve God’s hatred? He sold his birthright for a mess of pottage. God hates that. The birthright was to take responsibility for the family. Jacob sought after this. And God loved Jacob because of his faith and willingness to pick up the birthright. Does that sound like unconditional love or hatred to you? Of course not. Here is a very important truth that you need to grasp.  God always predestined the way, but he never predestines the person.  God had a plan for Esau.  In fact, he had the same plan for Esau that he had for Jacob.  If Esau would only humble himself, repent and trust in God; he would redeemed.  That’s the same plan he has for everyone, by the way.

So, what’s all this business about the birthright?  Well, you can be certain that God is serious about it.  It might not sound like that big of a deal to us, but look at what Hebrews 12:15-16 says: “15 See to it that no one misses the grace of God and that no bitter root grows up to cause trouble and defile many. 16 See that no one is sexually immoral, or is godless like Esau, who for a single meal sold his inheritance rights as the oldest son.” God hates it when we deny the birthright. He is actually referred to as “godless”.

Let’s visit one last scripture on Esau. Malachi 1:2-5 says, 2 “I have loved you,” says the LORD. “But you ask, ‘How have you loved us?’ “Was not Esau Jacob’s brother?” the LORD says. “Yet I have loved Jacob, 3 but Esau I have hated, and I have turned his mountains into a wasteland and left his inheritance to the desert jackals.” 4 Edom may say, “Though we have been crushed, we will rebuild the ruins.” But this is what the LORD Almighty says: “They may build, but I will demolish. They will be called the Wicked Land, a people always under the wrath of the LORD. 5 You will see it with your own eyes and say, ‘Great is the LORD -even beyond the borders of Israel!’ Again, God states that he loves Jacob and he hates Esau. God crushed Esau. Why? Out of hatred?  No.  Actually, he did it out of love.  He did it because he was desiring that Esau come to repentance. But, instead of confessing his sin and repenting, Esau decided to rebuild.  God hates that.

Allow me to point out a very important statement in verse four, They will be called the Wicked Land, a people always under the wrath of the Lord.”We had better realize that if we are going to be like Esau, then we are going to be under the wrath of the Lord. That’s not because God predestined it. That is because we sell our birthright for a mess of pottage. Instead of confessing and forsaking our sin, we decide to do things our way. We think that we can save ourselves, or work our way to salvation. Beloved, their is only one Way. It has nothing to do with works.  God predestined the only way, that being faith in Christ! “In repentance and rest is our salvation” (Isaiah 30:15) Any other way will only lead to the wrath of God.

So, we just covered the first section within this passage that the Calvinists use attempting to prove that God predestines individual persons to, either an eternity in Heaven or an eternity in Hell.  I think that after putting this text in it’s proper context we see that this is not the case.  First of all, Paul is using a scripture from Genesis and a scripture from Malachi.  The Genesis passage explained that God sovereignly chose the nation of Israel to be his chosen nation.  While, in the scripture from Malachi, we see why exactly God hated Esau.  It was not because he chose to make Esau into a person that he would hate.  It was because of who Esau became.  Of course, God could say that he hated him before he was even born because God is omniscient; He has absolute knowledge of everything; past, present and future.  We just have to be careful not to confuse his foreknowledge with predestination.

Of course, we also saw why it was that God loved Jacob.  It had nothing to do with God predestining his eternity. God knew who Jacob would become.  God knew that Jacob would turn to him in faith.  That is what God is looking for in us.

In verse fourteen we see a very important question; “Is God unjust?”  Well, of course we know the answer to that is an emphatic, “Not at all.”  However, I would submit to you that, if the doctrine of unconditional election is true, God is unjust.  And I say that, not only from a philosophical standpoint, but most importantly from a Scriptural one.  Over and over, Scripture urges us to repent, so that we can receive the mercy of God.  It is unjust to urge us to do something that we are incapable of doing.  It is unjust for God to do something that does not line up with his word.  So, I say calvinism’s teachings on election are unjust, not because of my definition of justice, but because it contradicts Scripture’s definition of justice.  God can do whatever he wants to do, but I think we all agree that what he does has to line up with His word.

We see a very important statement in verse fifteen, “For he says to Moses, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”On whom does God have mercy and compassion? Those who repent and come to Him in faith.

This is another verse that Paul is quoting from the OT.  You’ll find it in Exodus 33:19.  This is where God caused his glory to pass in front of Moses.  The point he was making was that he was not doing this for Moses because he earned it, but because God is sovereign and can have mercy on whomever he wills.

Verse sixteen says,“It does not, therefore, depend on man’s desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.” No one can work their way to God. We are only saved by grace through faith in Christ.  Those who hold to the doctrine of unconditional election would say that those who do not believe the way they do are promoting a works-based religion.  But, that is not the case, at all.  There is a big, “For” in verse seventeen, so you can’t just quote verse sixteen.

Verses seventeen and eighteen say, “17 For the Scripture says to Pharaoh: “I raised you up for this very purpose, that I might display my power in you and that my name might be proclaimed in all the earth.” 18 Therefore God has mercy on whom he wants to have mercy, and he hardens whom he wants to harden.”The Calvinists would try to make this scripture say that God predestined Pharaoh to reject him.  That’s not what he’s saying.

You have to remember that Pharaoh, when we first met him was one who rejected God.  Guess what.  That was before God ever hardened his heart.  You see, Pharaoh hardened his heart nine times.  God hardened his heart three times.

In Pharaoh, you see a man full of pride that was not going to be told what to do.  In Exodus 5:2, after Moses had relayed to him God’s message, his response was, “Who is the Lord, that I should obey him and let Israel go?  I do not know the Lord and I will not let Israel go.” Pharaoh had it in his heart that he was the supreme ruler and no one was going to tell him what to do.  Therefore, God let him have his way.  It’s this simple, if we decide to ignore God and harden our hearts, God will then harden it for us.  That is to say, that even when it looks completely foolish to continue in our ways, such as when Pharaoh faced two walls of water, he will harden our hearts to do what we wanted to do in the first place.  And we, like Pharaoh, will drive our chariots to our doom.

Another point to make on Pharaoh is that God raised him up so that the whole earth would see the glory of God.  God sought for a man, whom he knew would resist him and he used him in this way.  It wasn’t that God predestined him to resist him.  He just knew that he would.  There is a difference between foreknowledge and predestination.

In verse nineteen, we see a question that would actually be legit if unconditional election were true. “One of you will say to me: “Then why does God still blame us? For who resists his will?” I believe that that is why Paul uses it.  If we don’t have a choice, how can we be guilty?

And in the following passage, great clarity is given to the truth about election.  Look at verses twenty and twenty-one:

20 But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? “Shall what is formed say to him who formed it, ‘Why did you make me like this?’” 21 Does not the potter have the right to make out of the same lump of clay some pottery for noble purposes and some for common use?”

Paul is quoting from Isaiah 29 and 45 and using the imagery of Jeremiah 18 at the Potter’s house where God shapes the pot as he sees fit to Him.  So, let’s go back to Jeremiah 18 to see what’s going on.

1 This is the word that came to Jeremiah from the LORD : 2 “Go down to the potter’s house, and there I will give you my message.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and I saw him working at the wheel. 4 But the pot he was shaping from the clay was marred in his hands; so the potter formed it into another pot, shaping it as seemed best to him.

5 Then the word of the LORD came to me: 6 “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter does?” declares the LORD. “Like clay in the hand of the potter, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel. 7 If at any time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be uprooted, torn down and destroyed, 8 and if that nation I warned repents of its evil, then I will relent and not inflict on it the disaster I had planned. 9 And if at another time I announce that a nation or kingdom is to be built up and planted, 10 and if it does evil in my sight and does not obey me, then I will reconsider the good I had intended to do for it.

11 “Now therefore say to the people of Judah and those living in Jerusalem, ‘This is what the LORD says: Look! I am preparing a disaster for you and devising a plan against you. So turn from your evil ways, each one of you, and reform your ways and your actions.’ 12 But they will reply, ‘It’s no use. We will continue with our own plans; each of us will follow the stubbornness of his evil heart.’ “

There are a few things we need to see in this passage.  First of all, God is the potter, Israel is the clay.  And, of course, you could also say that we are clay in the hands of God.  Though this passage is talking about Israel, it also applies to us, individually.  And God can do with us whatever he wills.  However, you will see in verses seven and eight that, He is saying that Israel’s response could cause God to repent of the disaster he had planned.  Then, in verses nine and ten, he gives the opposite of that.  The response of Israel could also cause God to reconsider the good he had planned.  Those are two “if-then” statements that cause much confusion to the Calvinist doctrine of election.

Then, in verses eleven and twelve, you see a warning to the people – not just the nation as a whole.  Based on the preceding four verses, they are warned that God is preparing a disaster for them and devising a plan against them.  So, Jeremiah called them to repentance, so that God would repent of the evil he had planned against them.  But their reply says it all.  ”It’s no use. We will continue with our own plans; each of us will follow the stubbornness of his evil heart.” Unfortunately, that is the response of many today.  God has predestined the plan.  All of us are born in sin and headed for destruction.  But, he has also predestined a way for us to escape that destruction.  Remember, God always predestines the way, never the person.  If we repent and trust in Christ, God will repent of the disaster he had planned for us.  We see this made even more clear in Romans 9:22-24:

22 What if God, choosing to show his wrath and make his power known, bore with great patience the objects of his wrath—prepared for destruction? 23 What if he did this to make the riches of his glory known to the objects of his mercy, whom he prepared in advance for glory— 24 even us, whom he also called, not only from the Jews but also from the Gentiles?

Without putting this passage in context, it would be very easy to conclude that God bore us as “objects of wrath,” predestined to spend an eternity in Hell.  Well, here’s the deal.  We were all born objects of God’s wrath, prepared for destruction.  We really were.  You can blame that on Adam (Romans 5:12).  And what is the purpose that God would do something like that?  So He can display His mercy.  Remember in verse eleven we read that God wanted His purpose in election to stand?  He wants the whole world to see his mercy.  And God cannot display His mercy any better than taking an object of His wrath, offering them the free gift of salvation, and when they trust in Him, He can transform them into an object of His mercy.  Do you see it?  How marvelous!

Now, let’s wrap this up in Ephesians 2:1-10:

“1 As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, 2 in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. 3 All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. 4 But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, 5 made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved. 6 And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, 7 in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. 8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast. 10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

It is not that God creates some people objects of His wrath and some people objects of His mercy.  All people are created objects of His wrath.  Yet, He also sent His Son to die for the whole world, and offers His gift of salvation to all who would repent and trust in Him.  It does not come by works.  We cannot earn God’s mercy.  It is only when we repent and trust in Christ for salvation that we can be saved.  If you decide to do things your own way, forsaking the birthright and trusting in yourself, you will receive the wrath of God.  But, if you repent and put your faith in Christ, you will receive His mercy.  Though you were created an object of wrath, you can turn to Christ and become an object of mercy.  Amen!

This is as far as we will go in this study.  I hope it has helped you to better understand Romans 9 and the doctrine of election.  All I would ask of you is to go and study yourselves to see if what I have said adds up.  This study is meant, not to cause a root of bitterness to spring up with my Calvinist brothers and sisters.  Rather, it was meant to unclog some confusion that many have over this passage.  A good study for you would be to read all the way through the book of Romans.  You will see that, in it’s context, it does not teach any of the five points of Calvinism.  And you will find the same to be true if you simply read through the entire Bible, searching for the truth.

For His Glory,

Adam Tennant

21 Responses to ROMANS 9 COMMENTARY

  1. Becky Puckett says:

    Thank you, Adam. Good Word and response from Scripture. “And let us not grow weary while doing good,for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.” Gal.6:9-10. I love how you put everything in context of all the scripture. God Bless you and your family as you continue to “Seek First His Kingdom and Righteousness”
    In His Great Love,
    Becky

  2. Sean says:

    My friend, the simple reading of this passage is that God predetermined that He would not have mercy on Esau. Are you saying that is not fair? God does not owe anyone anything. What is wonderful is that God would forgive anyone at all! This makes grace all that more amazing. Paul knows this will be an argument – read v. 14 – and refutes it.

    I do agree with you – that a man must repent and trust in Christ for any salvation. This is man’s responsibility. But are you trying to reconcile God’s sovereignty with man’s responsibility? I like what Spurgeon said – to let them be “good friends.” Why try to reconcile them? They are both true – God’s election to save, and man’s responsibility to believe. God has the right to throw everyone into hell because they are cursed through Adam’s sin, even before they do anything wrong.

    Your premise is built on the “Nations” argument – which has been tried before down the centuries. If God were referring to nations, then why does he choose to save Gentile people at all? Read on further in Ch. 9 … And, if what you say is true, that He would “elect” certain nations, then why would He say He saves men from every tribe, tongue, and nation, Rev. 5:9? And, by the way, nations are made up of – individual people! Even through your argument about the nations, I see God’s beautiful election! God says in His Word that “before the twins were born or had *DONE* anything good or bad” (man’s responsibility, emphasis mine). How do you explain that?

    But alas, I would be happy to have you sit at my table any time and partake in telling stories about the mercies of Christ! I’m sure they are endless in both of our lives…

    Sean

  3. akatennant says:

    Sean, I guess you must be subscribed to my blog. I had only sent it out to a few friends for them to review. I hadn’t meant to make it public yet, because I felt that I needed to do some more edits. You’ve made some good point.

    I’ll try to more thoroughly answer some of your questions as I make edits to this post. But I will say this. The “Nations” argument is very old, yet still stands true. God chose a particular nation in Israel. But, we see in all of Romans that not all of the people of Israel are true Israelites. I think you need to read this article more carefully. I’m familiar with the nations argument, but there is more to it than that. God is also dealing with individuals. I think I explained that and defended that position in this article. But I’ll try to be more clear in my edits.

    I do want to ask you a question, Sean. What do you think happens to babies that die in the womb, whether through abortion or through a miscarriage? I’m just curious.

    Keep shinin’ for the Lord, Sean. If we don’t share stories in this lifetime, I look forward to sharing them with you in the next.

    Adam

  4. Sean says:

    Sorry, Adam. I tried to reply to your e-mail, but it didn’t let me…

    I believe we see in Scripture that David’s baby went to heaven. Other than that, we don’t see explicit text that says God elects some babies to go to heaven and some to go to hell (that I know of personally). All I know is:

    “Shall not the Judge of all the earth do right?” Genesis 18:25

    My wife and I hope we will see our unborn baby in heaven.

    Sean

  5. akatennant says:

    Sean, you’re hope is based on Scripture. You will see your child in Heaven. The Judge of all the earth will do right. He always has and always will. He has never sent a child to hell that was too young to confess Him. I know that God is just, and the Scriptures teach us what His justice looks like. Because of His justice, this is something He would never do.

  6. Ante says:

    Hello Adam. I hope you don’t mind if I just dive right in here:

    The key verses say:

    11(For the children being not yet born, neither having done any good or evil, that the purpose of God according to election might stand, not of works, but of him that calleth;)

    12It was said unto her, The elder shall serve the younger.

    13As it is written, Jacob have I loved, but Esau have I hated.

    We see what God’s purpose according to election is, and it is not WHO IS SAVED AND WHO IS DAMNED.

    It is stated that the elder SHALL SERVE THE YOUNGER. There is God’s stated “purpose according to election” And that this refers NOT TO the individuals themselves, but to the nations who would come from them is given to us in Genesis, where it say TWO NATIONS were in Sarah’s womb.

    Further proof is that Esau the elder NEVER SERVED Jacob.

    Now God HAS THE RIGHT as Creator to SWITCH the FIRSTBORN PRIVILEDGE and give TEMPORAL FAVOR to the younger rather than the older. This has NOTHING TO DO WITH whether someone is saved, or can be. Individual election to salvation IS NOT what Paul is talking about, but rather, WHY HAS MOST OF THE NATION fallen and not believed. How is it that the CHURCH is enjoying the benefits, and not Israel?

    The context is about the state of the NATION OF ISRAEL, and the fact that a new “nation”, the church is now receiving all the blessings promised to Israel. Well the ELDER has served the younger is Paul’s point. Israel, though called God’s FIRSTBORN, is now taking a BACKSEAT to the younger, the church. Relations to Christ, or the BIRTHRIGHT, WHO IS CHRIST is what decides this.

    Paul CONCLUDES in verses 30-33. Had he been teaching Calvinism, he would have said “What shall we say then? God from all eternity hath chosen who shall be saved and who will not, and that God only gives the ability to believe to those whom He has chosen to believe, and the rest He hath created for no other purpose but endless damnation, all for the praise of the mystery of His will.”

    Not only does Paul NOT SAY such things here, but he says such things NOWHERE in any of his letters. But what does He says?

    30What shall we say then? That the Gentiles, which followed not after righteousness, have attained to righteousness, even the righteousness which is of faith.

    31But Israel, which followed after the law of righteousness, hath not attained to the law of righteousness.

    32Wherefore?(WHY?) Because they sought it not by faith, but as it were by the works of the law. For they stumbled at that stumblingstone;

    Notice Paul CLEARLY teaches in his SUMMARY, that THE reason the Jews, the ELDER BROTHERS, are out of the blessing is THEIR OWN FAULT, and not because God doesn’t want them to be blessed and believe. More proof is given by Paul has he continues this discussion in chapters 10 and 11. Notice:

    1 Brethren, my heart’s desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved.

    2For I bear them record that they have a zeal of God, but not according to knowledge.

    3For they being ignorant of God’s righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God.

    4For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth.

    You see, the fault is theirs! They are misguided. And why would Paul desire and pray for Israel’s salvation is he just taught that God chose NOT TO SAVE MOST OF THEM, that they were actually predestined to this state of unbelief and damnation??? Why assail God with stupid prayers contrary to His will? Why would Paul have compassion on those objects of wrath for whom God had no compassion and provided no atonement, assuming Calvinsim is true and what Paul taught?

    You see, Calvinism makes a mockery and farce of the Scriptures and the God of the Scriptures.

    Paul makes it plain these Jews who are OUT of the blessing now, like Esua, like Pharoah, who have been SET ASIDE as the blessed nation and replaced by the Church, composed mostly of Gentiles, are out SOLEY BECAUSE of their unbelief, but salvation is possible and Paul prays for it! Notice, they are not damned from all eternity as reprobates, but every single Jew in Israel can be saved it they would just believe. Paul said in chapter 11:

    13For I speak to you Gentiles, inasmuch as I am the apostle of the Gentiles, I magnify mine office:

    14If by any means I may provoke to emulation them which are my flesh, and might save some of them.

    Notice, the whole time he has been trying to explain things to THE GENTILES. And he says he is trying to “save some” of the Jews. Would a Calvinsit speak as if anything he did could actually affect someone’s salvation? How can Paul “save” anyone? And why would he waste his time trying to save those who, according to Calvinists, he said earlier were objects of wrath, predestined to not believe and be damned? Why would Paul try to “save” such people? Well the only HONEST answer is because He did not teach or believe ANYTHING the Calvinist claims he did! Paul is ARMINIAN THROUGH AND THROUGH.

    Notice further what he said:

    19Thou wilt say then, The branches were broken off, that I might be grafted in.
    20Well; because of unbelief they were broken off, and thou standest by faith. Be not highminded, but fear:
    21For if God spared not the natural branches, take heed lest he also spare not thee.
    22Behold therefore the goodness and severity of God: on them which fell, severity; but toward thee, goodness, if thou continue in his goodness: otherwise thou also shalt be cut off.
    23 And they also, if they abide not still in unbelief, shall be grafted in: for God is able to graft them in again.
    Many things appear as Paul winds down the discussion started in chapter 9 and culminating in chapter 11. First notice, Paul clearly teaches that we Gentiles can be CUT OFF AND LOST just like unbelieving Jews were cut off for not believing in Christ. Paul ABSOLUTLEY DENIES the 5th point of Calvinsim, Once save always saved, and thereby denies the whole system. Election is clearly CONDITIONAL, not unconditional. So point 2 of TULIP is utterly denied as well. All of Calvinism, ironically enough, shipwrecks in Romans 9-11.

    But here we see Paul tells the Gentiles not to be haughty or proud, for we only stand by faith, and the Jews were broken off, NOT BECAUSE OF SOME UNALTERABLE DECREE, but because of unbelief, and that these same unbelieving ones, far from being reprobated from all eternity by God, Paul declares CAN BE BROUGHT TO SALVATION if they do not continue is unbelief! Not only is their salvation possible, thereby refuting Unconditional Election and Limited atonement, but Paul PRAYS FOR their salvation and does things to try and “save” these unbelieving Jews! No Calvinist would EVER speak like or behave like Paul did.

    Paul taught what we find in the entire Bible, that men CAN BELIEVE and be saved, like he said the ENTIRE NATION of Israel could. No teaching that men are so depraved they CANNOT BELIEVE. He made it clear election, in Romans 9, referred to PRIVILEDGED STATUS IN THIS LIFE with the Jacob vs Esau example. God did not HATE Esau, anymore than that Jewish idiomatic expression actually meant we are to HATE our parents, spouses, children etc if we want to be Christ’s followers. To “hate”, in these contexts, meant to PREFER LESS.

    Paul CLEARLY taught all could be saved, and that GOD WOULD SAVE THEM “if” they would believe. Paul also taught that SAVED GENTILES can fall and be lostl, CUT OFF FROM GOD, just like the Jews were, if we do not CONTINUE in His goodness.

    Everything is conditional, therefore everything about Calvinism is utterly false.

    Praise the Lord that God SO LOVED THE WORLD that whosoever from that world can be saved, if they would believe. God does not simply love the elect, He loves the world, and Christ died for the sins of THE WHOLE WORLD-1John 2:2. Gloooooory to God!

    • Maria Schiavo says:

      I love you soooo much for taking the time to type all of this. I unwittingly started to attend a Calvinist church with my husband and shortly after my 25 year old twin sons began to attend as the Lord had begun to open their eyes. It is a lovely church, humble, intimate and the fellowship is like nothing I have ever seen. These are a true loving group of believers. There is much fruit especially seen in the young adults which is amazing and miraculous given the times. But when I started to learn the Calvinist doctrine I nearly died! I didn’t even know about Calvinism or Arminianism I just knew Christ and I knew He saved me from the pit of hell. I held these elders in such regard that naturally I questioned my understanding and not theirs. This took me on such a tailspin of confusion, doubt, anxiety and discontent from the church body and even the Lord. The thought that God ordained all things even the most sinful heinous acts sounded outright blasphemous. I say this and tremble, Father forgive me if I am wrong, but my conscience just will not allow me to accept that. The five points of Calvinism that I am now familiar with I just cannot or rather I am having tremendous difficulty accepting. Of course I desire to submit to whatever the truth is and I am no one to object the true nature of God, but to this date, He has not given me this understanding or even the ability to beginning to understand and accept these strange and “counterintuitive” doctrines. Jesus did not die for the whole world?? What?? Calvinists are so quick to corner you with scriptures that I just haven’t had a whole lot of time to think and pray over so I really appreciate the other perspective. God help us!

      • akatennant says:

        I’m so glad you’ve been blessed by this, Maria. Hey, I understand your struggle. One thing I’ve learned over the years is that this is NOT an issue to divide over. I actually attend a church, where many are Calvinists. I find that there are those on both sides that take it too far and make it a major issue, but it’s just not worth it. I don’t think these are things that God wants us to focus on, and I certainly don’t think He’s given us enough to make many absolute statements about it. What I’ve laid out is what I believe. But I’ve decided I’m not going to fight with anyone over it anymore. My encouragement to you is to continue to seek the Lord about focus on the things He has made clear in His Word. He’ll lead us to the things He wants us to focus on. Keep shinin’ for Jesus, Maria!

  7. akatennant says:

    In my article, I put Romans nine in context with all of the OT passages quoted by Paul. This commentary by Ante really helps to see chapter nine in context with chapters ten and eleven. It would be a great read for anyone that wishes to have more clarity on what this passage really says.

    I did notice a typo in his comment after quoting Romans 10:1-4. I mention it because it is a big word…”if.” I believe this is what he meant to say:

    “And why would Paul desire and pray for Israel’s salvation IF he just taught that God chose NOT TO SAVE MOST OF THEM, that they were actually predestined to this state of unbelief and damnation???”

    Thanks for your comment, Ante.

    • oron61 says:

      I think we sometimes ought to spend some time ignoring chapter and verse numbers so we don’t contain them as their own packages. The division of the bible (except in songs and poetry) didn’t come with the text but was added to help find parts of it. John 3:15-17 is more important than John 3:16 alone.

  8. Steve says:

    Thank you for putting this chapter into context. You have clarified many things for me.

    I think that the most important thing, I learned today was something I keep having to learn over and over. Context, context context. I have never gone back to the OT and saw what they said.

    I think that the most important think to remember about Calvin is that he seems to have been a Stoics at heart and read scripture through that Stoic lens. His doctrines comes nearly directly from the Stoic authors he read about and wrote commentary on.Calvin denied this, but we can see that he intricately developed his doctrine from Stoicism.

    God Bless and thank you.

    • oron61 says:

      It’s the same of Augustine, who was a Manichean dualist. He was in the minority when preaching that the lost will be given everlasting life in hell, but his influence eventually got the church to pronounce any other idea to be anathema.

  9. Laura says:

    I left my worldly church in search of a conservative body of believers. The group I found is wonderful, but recently as the Pastor preached through Romans, I realized they are hyper-Calvinists. In desperation to make sense of their distortions, “God doesn’t love everyone, only the elect” and “God creates some for destruction”, I found your article and site. I appreciate all the OT references. Thanks for ‘repenting.’ I look forward to visiting more often.

  10. Kory says:

    My wife and I sat down this morning and read Romans 9. As we read, I progressively felt more confused as what Paul was saying, seemed to contradict the very nature of God who wills that “none should be lost”. The key for me as for some of the others that have posted, was to look at the OT context of what Paul was quoting. Thank you for this well written clarification.

  11. Bob Leitzel says:

    Adam,

    Again, thanks for your thoughtful treatment of Romans 9. I agree very strongly with what Ante stated above and truthfully am amazed to find someone else who sees what Paul’s entire point in Romans 9 was! In my experience, there’s not to many out there who do. Paul is dealing with his contemporary Jewish brothers who for centuries had thought that God loved them and wrongly thought that He did not love the Gentiles. Now, due to Paul’s message that the Gentiles are now to be included into the family of God, the Jews are objecting strongly.

    Here in Romans 9, Paul’s answer to the Jews is that THEY are the new first-born, the Ishmael/Esau of the stories they know so well, and the Gentiles are the new second born, the Isaac/Jacob. Paul is taking these age-old sotries and reversing the rolse of the main characters! You can imagine how strongly his Jewish audience would have reacted!

    Everything you’ve said about Paul’s message not being one of individual election is correct, but we can go further to show what Paul’s message really was.

  12. christy says:

    That is because we sell our birthright for a mess of pottage.Wow god put in on my heart to read this verse romans 9 and so to get more on what others think of this scripture in specific I just googled it and found this lol.I know who paul w is and I just herd this term calvanist only recently from watching this preacher in seattle.I cannot understand how god works this way but I thank the lord for his mercy.The funniest thing Is half my family are religious different levels of jew and im probaly the only christian.I consider myself pentacostal because god showed the the truth of the holy spirit I guess because I never knew god until he revealed to me tounges and ect..Maybe Im now a calvanist

  13. Karen says:

    I’m really wrestling through the issues of predestination, election and Calvinism right now, as the new pastor at the church I’ve attended for almost 20-years is a “Hyper Calvinist.” I’ve been in dialog with him about this passage, and feeling utterly confused and revolted by the ideas he embraces. I’ve been in utter turmoil all day thinking about this and found this post. Thank you… I feel deeply relieved and finally clear on this passage. And I deeply appreciate the humility and reverence for the scripture that comes through in your writing.

    • akatennant says:

      Thank you Jesus! I love hearing that. I’m not big on debating this issue, but I am really big on seeing people’s eyes opened. More and more churches are falling to hyper-Calvinism. We might not see the damaging effects of this for another generation, but they will be damaging. When children grow up under this teaching, fatalism creeps in. Thank your for posting this, Karen. I’m glad that the Holy Spirit used me in this way.

  14. Davi says:

    I’ve often had trouble with this scripture, and now you have made it clearer to me. Thank you!

  15. oron61 says:

    Thing is: is foreknowledge predestination?
    The idea that God knew all that would happen when making the world turns him into the clockmaker who answered our prayers ahead of time, revorded his voice whenever he speaks, and left us.
    If God is omnipotent, he is still responsible, unless he chooses deliberately to not know or control some or all of the future. God could have planned the ends without planning the means. Universalists argue that God’s plan will come to fruit no matter how it happens, no matter how many or how much αἰῶνας αἰώνων it takes in hell for every last one of us to return.

Leave a comment