WHO ME? WORSE THAN AN INFIDEL? WELL…

Ah, the refreshment that comes from repentance…

The first words that come to my mind to express my sentiments of how I was affected by the 2010 Operation Save America National Event are, “Thank you Jesus!”  Why?  Because he smashed me with the truth of His Word, I confessed my sin, repented, and now I’m free.  Hallelujah!

Now, please allow me to explain.

On the last night of the event, Rev. Flip Benham gave an altar call to anyone who had not been faithful to be in God’s Word every single day.  Of course, I arrogantly looked around the room at all the “sinners.”  Then, I saw my wife stand up.  Oh, I knew that she had struggles with being in the Word everyday.  After all, she has to take care of two kids all day.

So I watched my wife respond to the altar call and God busted me, big time.  It’s almost as if he said, “Look buddy, you think you’re doing such a good job by being in the Word everyday, but you’re a failure.  Who do you think is responsible for your wife being in the Word everyday?”  Then, all of the sudden, two verses were brought to my remembrance.

First, it was 1 Timothy 5:8, which says: “But if any provide not for his own, and specially for those of his own house, he hath denied the faith, and is worse than an infidel.”

I remembered that verse because God had just showed it to me through an article written by Dr. Patrick Johnston dealing with ways in which we, as husbands, can do a better job of loving our wives.  “Wow!” I said.  I was busted.

I realized that Paige was not the one that should be at the altar.  I should!  So, then, being the prideful man that I am I thought, “Well, if I go down there, everyone will think that I’m not in my Bible everyday.”  (Yes, I repented of that, too.)  So, I walked down to my wife, put my arm around her and told her that this was my responsibility and apologized.

As I was down there, I started to think some things over.  I have always taught young men I disciple that, before they can pursue the opposite sex, they should be 100% prepared to provide for their wife physically, financially and spiritually.  So I realized that, because of 1 Timothy 5:8, I had become “worse than an infidel.”

The other scripture that the Holy Spirit brought to my remembrance was Ephesians 5:25-28, which says: “Husbands, love your wives, even as Christ also loved the church, and gave himself for it; that he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word, that he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.  So ought men to love their wives as their own bodies. He that loveth his wife loveth himself.”

There have been times that I have washed my wife’s feet to show my love and devotion to serve her.  Oh, my wife thinks I am the greatest husband ever.  Well, I know better.  I realized this night, that despite the emotional, physical and financial support that I show to Paige, if I do not wash her with the Word of God, I have completely failed as a husband.  I have become worse than an infidel.

Well, throughout the week, God had showed me several areas in my Christian walk that needed to be improved upon.  The biggest things were my not being a good husband and father.  I remember feeling horrible all day Tuesday.  I tried to put this stuff before the Lord, but it seemed that it didn’t do any good.  Then, I recall someone saying, “No one has ever come to God in repentance and been turned away.”  So, I realized there was hope.  The reason I felt so sorrowful was because it truly was godly sorrow and God just wasn’t done dealing with me.

So, praise the Lord!  On Friday night, I was finally confronted with the very specific sin that I was committing.  I was not fulfilling the responsibilities of being a godly husband. On Sunday, I was able to confess it to my church and ask them to hold me accountable.

I am just so thankful for God’s tender mercies.  And I am so thankful for the men of God in OSA who took the time to talk to me about how to become a better husband and father.  I thanked Doc Johnston for his booklet that I read (I’ll include a link to it at the bottom of this page).  I explained that I had to repent and he told me something like, “If you don’t get it right with your wife, you won’t get it right with your kids.”

God showed me so many things.

I had a critical spirit.  Believe it or not, even though I was completely failing at my job as a husband and father, I had the nerve to criticize Paige when the house was not as clean as I thought it should be.  What a hypocrite I was!

I already talked about my failure in not teaching the Word to my wife, but I was also failing in the area of training my children in the fear of the Lord.  I am so thankful that Frank Campana and Rusty Thomas took the time to show me how to do better in this area.  Their practical pieces of advice have already paid off, tremendously.

Praise God for his grace and forgiveness!

Now that the log’s been removed from my eye, I wonder if I could encourage some of you to examine yourselves to see if there are areas where you need to repent.  I’ll just give you some simple questions and admonishments for fathers and husbands, for mothers and wives, and for young men and young women.

Questions for husbands and fathers: Are you providing for your wife and children financially, physically, emotionally and spiritually.  I’ve already explained how to provide spiritually.  If you would like to understand more about the others, please ask me and I’d be glad to help you on this.  Remember this, God has entrusted you with your wife.  He has entrusted you with your children.  You better not forget that.  You better love your wife and treat her as the gift from God that she is.  Likewise with your children.  And you better not forget that your children are eternal souls.  They are future mothers and fathers, missionaries and martyrs for Christ!  Don’t forget the value of those whom God has entrusted to you.

Questions for mothers and wives: Are you submitted to your husbands as unto to the Lord?  Are you committed to the call on your life to raise godly children and to come along side your husband as a help meet?

Questions for young men: Are you prepared to provide for your future wife financially, physically, emotionally and spiritually?  Are you prepared to leave and to cleave?  Are you committed to study God’s Word?

Questions for young women: Are you willing to trust God and wait for Him to send you a husband?  Are you committed to surrender all to your calling to raise children and submit to your future husband?

Just so you know, God might call some of you young men and women to celibacy.  That’s fine.  But, if you were my children I would still raise you to be good husbands and fathers and good mothers and wives.  That’s what biblical manhood and biblical femininity is all about.

I hope this has been encouraging and provoking.  Remember, there is only One that can deliver you from sin.  His name is Jesus!

For His Glory,

Adam Tennant

Here is a the link to Dr. Patrick Johnston’s article:  http://rightremedy.org/articles/305

15 Responses to WHO ME? WORSE THAN AN INFIDEL? WELL…

  1. Sean says:

    Great truth here.

    A wonderful book to get is called “A Church in the House” by Matthew Henry. It helped me and my wife tremendously.

    http://www.visionforum.com/search/productdetail.aspx?search=a+church+in+the+house&productid=33352

  2. akatennant says:

    Thanks. I’ll check it out. I’m gonna see if they have it at my local library.

  3. Jacob Litchfield says:

    Thank you Adam for your honesty. Jesus dealt with me last week as well and showed me that I needed to change in the way I treated my wife. I have been worse than an infidel! And I am so thankful that the Lord used you to speak to me about it. By God’s grace, I have repented. I also have spoken to my wife and apologized. Praise the Lord for His mercy and grace! Thank you for being obedient.
    Jake

  4. akatennant says:

    Praise the Lord! God is working in the hearts of fathers! Revival!

  5. Jacob Litchfield says:

    God really did come and help us last week. What love God has shown in crushing our pride and self sufficiency!

  6. Brother Adam, That is Awsome Brother! I went through this last year! Praise the Lord that you see Clearly now! Keep shining for King Jesus And we love you guys! Thank you Jesus!

  7. Lakuita says:

    Hi Brother….this is soooo beautiful. Thank you for being so transparent. I am really encouraged by your message. Continue to let God use you. There will come a time (soon) that he will thrust you two (you and Paige) out as a team and use you to win other husbands and wives. THIS IS JUST AWESOME MAN OF GOD. Continue to plow the hearts and minds of those who surround you!!!!

  8. Ellen O. Stanford says:

    I recommend the “theology of the Body” books by Christopher West, they are an excellent explanation of our roles as men and women, husbands and wives and even the single vocation.

  9. connie nelson says:

    this is awesome adam ty for writing it i printed it off & im gonna study each word

  10. Thank you ever so much for this article. Sorry to say I was a feminist when I married and was soundly saved after marriage. It was then I learned of the great lies and deseption in the camp of women’s liberation movement. The problem is too often women liberators invite the kind of husbands who want the independent wife so they have no responsibility for their care. If in the future illness happens to the wife and she is unable to work outside the home often that is when you find what your husband is made of. The resentment they feel in being betraded and having to step up to take care of someone they had no intention of doing so begins to manifest. In 1985 I was given 6 months to live sent home to die, but the Lord brought me home to learn at His feet. My husband did accept salvation and is saved from the fire but as for the rest well the Lord is still working on him. He is constantly pressuring my daughter and I to get out and work to prove our value. The doctors tell me I am unable to do this. I was unable to get disability so I have felt the resentment growing daily. I never know if he will stay or not but put that trust in the Lord. There has been a couple of times he did not come home and I did not know where he was for a couple of days. Though he has not done that for a few years now the constant threat that he might weighs heavy especially when he has bad days at work and takes it out on me with yelling. Abagail called her husband a fool several times in front of King David. I’ll not do that, yet I need prayers for the resentment to go and for my husband to grow up and take his responsability, to quit threatening to quit his job and kick us out.

  11. akatennant says:

    Mrs. Jennings, Jr.

    Thank you so much for your comment. The prayers of my family will be going up on your behalf. I can’t comment now, because I’m getting ready to start a day of work. I’ll have my wife read your comment though.

    In Christian love,
    Adam Tennant

  12. Brian Ottinger says:

    Adam as you know I am a new Christian and also a new husband, and realize I have alot of areas I need to improve and I appreciate your writing this blog, your testimony has helped serve as a mirrior for areas in my mlife and marriage I am lacking in. Thank you for always posting scriptures in your blogs. I like to use them for future reference.

  13. Matthew Bloomfield says:

    Thanks so much for your article. It was a strong rebuke for me, the Holy Spirit was certainly able to speak to me through it.

Leave a comment